apple
Midnight snack.

I woke up at around 1:00 a.m. last night to the sound of thunder and heavy rain and couldn’t get back to sleep. After tossing and turning for about 15 minutes straight, my wife (who was still asleep, I think) mumbled something about how I should get off the bed and get on the stationary bike, which was kinda weird because she then told me to take an umbrella since it was raining outside.

Anyway, I went to the kitchen and made a sandwich and as I was getting a glass of water, I had this sudden urge to paint. With half a sandwich in between my teeth and two glasses of water in both hands, I ran to my man cave (which was more like a mouse hole) and proceeded to gather my supplies: a small 3″x 4″ cardboard, acrylic paints and a couple of brushes. I decided I wanted to paint an apple because I don’t know why.

The problem was there were no apples in the house. This will not do. I want to paint an apple and I WILL paint an apple! So, Google images. Once I found the reference I needed, I just kind of imagined how I wanted the background and lighting to look like. (In retrospect, I don’t know why I went for a bright yellow light source but I guess it’s fine. Contrasts and stuff, you know?)

I finished the painting at around 2:00 in the morning with the rain lashing against the windows. As I climbed back to bed, my wife, who was still asleep, mumbled, “I told you to bring an umbrella. Pancakes…”.

5 thoughts on “The 2:00 a.m. Apple.

  1. I love drawing and painting apples, and your “midnight snack” looks delicious. It’s been pouring down rain here, too. I laughed at your wife’s reminder to “take an umbrella.” Thanks for brightening up what looks to be a rather dreary morning here.

    Like

    1. We bought some apples and pears on the way home this evening, but now I want to paint watermelons haha! We only have two seasons here: dry and wet. Today, it’s officially the start of the wet season so it looks like I’ll be taking my umbrella with me everywhere I go. Maybe I should paint my umbrella to make it look cooler. Hmm…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment